The Slow but Noticeable Progress in my Drawing

The last few classes and open drawing sessions, we have been working on contours, still haven’t quite got it, and proportion, which after a rocky start of attempting to comprehend the notion of using my pencil as a measuring tool, I think I have finally begun to get the hang of it. On another note, reflective of my previous post, I am still convinced I made the right decisions. Dropping drawing would have been terrible and I don’t think I would have forgiven myself had I actually dropped it. John probably wouldn’t have either, but now we are able to joke about it in class, much to my relief, and it has given him another reason to pick on me. He still remains as cynically encouraging as ever.

Go ahead and laugh at this one, I know I do every time I look at it. (Contour attempt)ImageProportions:ImageImageMy Attempt at the famous “The Rape of the Sabine Women” by Sculptor Giambologna:ImageThese next ones show the step by step process we learned today incorporating everything we have learned to this point to compose the figure. Gesture -> Contour -> Full Figure:

ImageImageThen there was this crazy contour reversal/retracing/impression/transfer of the soft lead to the good paper to create a light outline from which we were to build off of to make our final figure. No pictures and not necessarily the best explanation. Oh well, heres the final product:ImageWith a little bit more practice, I’ll soon be the next Picasso. Ciao!

 

About thehpubandana

I am currently a Junior in college at High Point University in High Point, North Carolina. However, this year I am studying abroad in Florence, Italy with the SACI school. I am a studio art major, with a passion for photography, skateboarding, and yelling Title Fight with my friends. CHUH!!
This entry was posted in Drawing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Slow but Noticeable Progress in my Drawing

  1. Youknowwho says:

    I actually think they’re pretty good. Your body proportions are very good. You’ve improved lots. I’m not just saying that. Faces/heads are obviously still difficult for you. I absolutely love the one with the 3 figures. I’d like to frame that one.

  2. Youknowwho says:

    ok, I should have recognized the Rape of the Sabine Women. The figure on the bottom is fabulous. I also really like the drawing of the old woman right above the Rape drawing.

Leave a Reply

